Day 17 – Ignorant no more

1 Corinthians 12:1 (NIV)

Now about spiritual gifts, brothers, I do not want you to be ignorant.

Let’s try to clear up some of our…misunderstandings of the Gifts of the Spirit.

There are 3 categories of Spiritual gifts: first, there are the three Revelation Gifts (These are gifts that reveal something).

  • The Word of Wisdom
  • The Word of Knowledge
  • Discerning of Spirits

These are called Revelation gifts because they are specific revelations from heaven regarding certain facts that man could not know on their own, unless God reveals it to them.

Secondly, there are the three Power Gifts (These are gifts that do something).

  • The gift of Faith
  • The Working of Miracles
  • Gifts of Healing

They are called power gifts because of a divine impartation given to man of God’s power and abilities.

Lastly, there are the 3 vocal or inspirational gifts (These are gifts that say something).

  • Prophecy
  • Divers or diversity of tongues
  • Interpretation of tongues

They are called vocal gifts because of the divine utterance given to individuals to inspire the corporate body through edification, exhortation and comfort.

The more we understand these gifts, the better equipped we’ll be to operate in them as the Spirit of God so wills.